The worst Thanksgiving dish you ever had

15 Jul

While in California, my roommate bought me a copy of 642 Things to Write About. It’s literally 642 writing prompts, and I’m having a blast going through them. One of the shorter prompts asks to describe “the worst Thanksgiving dish you ever had.” Since it’s food-related, I thought it’d merit a post.

….

Don’t remember [the worst]. Probably a casserole. Definitely a green bean casserole, one so creamy and confusing that I have chosen to instead sublimate in my traumatic memories than even try to remotely enjoy. The television says that men like eating casseroles when they are depressed. A depressing casserole, particularly a savory one, would cause me to want more casserole, thus beginning a never-ending eternal recurrence of terrible casserole dishes. I eat because I’m unhappy, I’m unhappy because I eat.

Friedrich Nietzsche, a strong believer in eternal recurrence, would have advised me to become stronger through casserole.

Friedrich Nietzsche, a strong believer in eternal recurrence, would have advised me to become stronger through casserole.

What’s your worst Thanksgiving dish?

Leave a Reply

