Image

Picture Recipe: Shrimp Creole

9 Jan

This shrimp creole is my go-to dish that brings together soup and shrimp-two of my favorite things to work with. I took the Lee Brother’s recipe for easy shrimp creole and made some additions that keep it simple. Some of these techniques come in handy for any other soup you might be making. I’ve added a mirepoix (a collection of veggies that you build the whole stew from), a simple roux (a combo of flour and butter that thickens the creole), and some flavor adjustments (this will be less spicy and salty and a little more shrimpy, if that’s a word). Deglaze the pot with a bright tasting white wine and let everything simmer for a good amount of time.

My chicken scratch for shrimp creole

My chicken scratch for shrimp creole

One Response to “Picture Recipe: Shrimp Creole”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How 45 million Americans (and their meals) are on the line | Table Scraps - October 10, 2013

    […] and it’s got me thinking. While I could be writing about my time at French diner or drawing cartoons of shrimp creole, there’s something that’s crowding out everything else: American hunger. With the […]

Leave a Reply

