Shirred Eggs, Sir

5 Dec

I’ve been breaking a lot of eggs lately. There’s already been the post about Jacques Pépin eggs. Metaphorically, finals are here, so that involves cracking the books and breaking the brains. Eggs are reasonably cheap and quick, so for a college student, they’re a great protein boost between finals that’s simple and fast.

Poached egg on buttered toast may be my favorite meal for anytime of day. It’s gooey and almost sinful. Look at this egg-kind of like a mobster bleeding in the street. I take no credit for the visual effect.

English: A single broken poached egg on 2 piec...

English: A single broken poached egg on 2 pieces of toast bread. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Speaking of texture, the egg with a toast stick is pretty awesome. It’s more fancily known as a shirred egg, one that is baked in the oven. Using the recipe from the Kitchn, I made my own baked egg with toast lincoln log things included.

IMG_2904-copy

Simpler than poaching. Crack an egg into an oiled ramekin. I used a coffee mug for two reasons: 1) These ones are just the right size. 2) All of my ramekins were being cleaned in the dishwasher. Top with a tablespoon of half ‘n half, 1/2 tablespoon fresh parsley, a pinch of dried thyme, crumbles of swiss cheese, and salt and pepper, to taste. Put the egg into an oven heated to 425°F, and cook for about 8 minutes, which gave a unique egg texture.

This was a cross between the “poached” eggs I’d make in the microwave and an over-easy eggs. The yolk’s not runny, but not set, in a gel-like texture. Even though I loved poaching eggs perfectly, this is something I’ll be making more of for breakfast biscuits.

This beats frying eggs.

3 Responses to “Shirred Eggs, Sir”

  1. Queen of the Food Age December 5, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    Tommy, this made me wish I liked eggs. Maybe I’ll try it and see if my tastes have changed.

    Also, I love that we’re using the same blog theme. Great minds…

    • trwerner December 12, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

      Great minds…link alike.

  2. lilyclare December 7, 2012 at 6:48 am #

    This sounds delicious! Believe it or not, I had never had a poached egg until earlier this year because the runny yolk freaked me out, but since I’ve tried them, I now prefer eggs no other way. I’ll have to try this recipe, though. It might be a new fav!

Leave a Reply

