Fast food isn’t fast enough?

25 May

This is brilliant. My friend Maddie and I were talking about how fun ads can be when they’re not too vomitific (local commercials, you know who you are)

I also have a list of ads that I really liked-especially Levi’s jeans and Haggen Daas. I could eat advertisement in a bowl for breakfast.

It is the fuel of my work on the school newspaper-The New York Times has all of the news that fits, but that’s after the ads are placed. It’s not being a cynical student or a label snob that has produced my obsession with advertising. It’s more like being a scientist, curious to pick apart the good ones and skeptical of how advanced evolution really makes us with a few of the others.

Commercials go hand in hand with the McDonald’s corporation, which gets me thinking about thinking. Waiting in line, you can get impatient, or you can think about the fast food industry. One lady in front of me in line mentioned how someone needs to address efficiency at a fast food restaurant, and that got me wondering.

What happens when fast food isn’t fast enough? I’m curious if there is a time requirement for turning over meals at places like McDonald’s.

How much taste do we compromise by impatience? Sean Brock told me during the writing of my article about his Charleston restaurant HUSK that we need to chew slower and think about what we’re chewing. He was talking about considering the health and source of ingredients, but I think that statement goes beyond “slow food” and “locavore” buzz. Even if it’s just a Coke or a Wild Berry Smoothie, my lunch today, you really have a different experience if you stop and think between sips and bites.

That being said, I see why Mickey D’s pulled a lot of promotions for the smoothies. Whether I was dragging on the red purple straw or slurping it at a red light, I just got a lot of “berry mass,” which is sort of a syrupy and seedy taste. I like the whole berry family, but I’m not sure if the frozen solution was a purist’s smoothie. It’d be a good pool side drink (I foresee mojito flavors being an option for the home?), but I wouldn’t expect this to work after a workout.

Nevertheless, I’m still writing my undergraduate thesis on the fascination around the McRib. Expect further posts…

2 Responses to “Fast food isn’t fast enough?”

  1. Daniel May 26, 2011 at 1:30 am #

    you are absolutely correct. people need to learn patience. if they had any idea how much effort it takes to make a burger in under 60 seconds, they may appreciate that $1.09 piece of filth they consume regularly. here is a challenge for everyone who goes into any restaurant and complains about their service. be it; waited in line too long, poor food quality, poor service, or whatever. go into your kitchen and make your own burger in less than 60 seconds (no microwaves). to add to the challenge, do that for 8 hrs straight (if you are lucky you get a 30 min break. no 15’s) for minimum wage. if you haven’t guessed it, i used to work at mcdonalds, so i know its no walk in the park. when you get done at work you get to come home to some crappy house, in your crappy car (if you have one) because that’s all you can afford on your min wage job. and before you go around saying “that’s what you get for not going to college” (because i know you were thinking it) its hard to save up for college on a high school job income, and grants do not cover the entire costs of school, like people like to think. the cost of schooling has risen considerably in recent years. also, don’t count on getting a job just because you have a piece of paper with a schools logo on it. anyway, basically what i intend is for people to consider this, before you go up to that cashier and crucify him/her for your service.

    • trwerner June 5, 2011 at 10:37 am #

      there are a lot of people talking about the physical health effects of fast food. i think there’s a lot of social stuff at stake too. wolfing down food takes away some of that enjoyment, and it takes the meal out of a social experience. food is fuel when it boils down, but i think people have a social appetite too.

Leave a Reply

