Pulling Teeth for Pudding

19 May

I had a wisdom tooth taken out on Tuesday which means two things:
Vegging out.
The other?
Liquid diet.

And by liquids, it’s pudding.
I may ignore pudding on the other 51 weeks (with the exception of Hominy Grill’s Nutella-esque dish that’s always on the menu), but when I’m incapictated due to pain (or any of the other substances associated with it), I feel a pull for pudding.

The preparation is like a science experiment: the dishes are all lined up in my refrigerator like I’m creating a gene culture or growing a creature.

It is a creature, and a very addictive one at that.

I never feel like I can have just pudding, so whether it’s tapping it with the spoon like creme brulee or adding cayenne pepper to the chocolate variety, I’m trying to change it up. When you’re under the gas and somebody is digging in your mouth with equipment that costs as much as a new Mac, you’re not only expected to act crazy, you’re required to.

I have found that peach preserves go rather well with pistachio pudding, and butterscotch, though by itself, is a flavor I’ve come to enjoy. Did you ever have those foods that you hated as a kid but now can’t get enough of? I have found quite a few tastes that have come back and been much more enjoyable. Maybe with the responsibility associated with laundry and paying bills comes the power to enjoy butterscotch as a flavor.

I don’t think I’m going to go out and write a post on Tapioca any time soon though. Or cottage cheese.

3 Responses to “Pulling Teeth for Pudding”

  1. Louise May 23, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    Chocolate pudding with cayenne? Brilliant!

    Hang in there with the whole wisdom teeth situation. On the positive side, its a one and out experience. On the reality side, it just generally sucks.

    • trwerner May 25, 2011 at 2:34 am #

      I still have one more wisdom tooth. I think when the surgeon misses me/gets bored, I’ll be back in there and will have more chances to mess around with the pudding. It makes for good stories on the very positive side.

      • Louise May 27, 2011 at 2:38 am #

        You are certainly helping the economy by supporting the professionals in your neighborhood. Perhaps a Presidential honor is in your future. 🙂

        In the meantime, many pudding flavor await your experimentation.

Leave a Reply

